Grandson Baptismal Blanket

Most of you know the story about my grandson; it’s pretty much all I’ve talked about on this blog for the last few months… He will be born and will die soon afterward (if he survives his own birth). My son and his fiance decided that they are going to have him Baptized as soon as he is born. I knew I had to make his Baptism blanket.

Christening Blanket 5

I used the Baby Counterpane Christening Blanket pattern written by Kay Meadors.

Christening Blanket 3

I’m not a proficient knitter; in fact, I haven’t actually knitted much… Two socks, a kerchief, a little decorative owl and a hat. The socks were actually done with needles. Everything else has been done using a knook.

Christening Blanket 6

I had some problems with the edging portion of the original pattern. And since I don’t have much knitting experience, I didn’t know what changes I should make, to make it work. So, I frogged the edging and switched to crochet.

Christening Blanket 7

For the edging, I used the Lacy Vs and Picots Edging pattern written by Amy Solovay. Because I had done one row of SC all the way around, I skipped straight to round 2 in the pattern. I completed two rounds of round 2, one of round 3 and then the picot round.

Christening Blanket 1

Aside from the fact that this was a sad project, I really did enjoy the process of making this blanket. It was a fun knit, with lots of different things to do. But, because it was fairly repetitive, it was also easy enough. I put in a lifeline every 10 rows. I think it is a great beginner’s lace knitting project.

I used my favorite baby yarn – Red Heart Soft Baby Steps – in white.

Each of the four panes took less than a skein of yarn; I started a new skein for each pane. The edging took the better part of a skein. I started a new skein for the v stitches and then started another for the picot round. I would say that it took five skeins of yarn, even though I opened six.

Because I’m a slower knitter, I’d estimate that this took me close to 50 hours to make.

It is a little over 3-feet square.

Mom loves it, and really, that’s all that counts.

2 thoughts on “Grandson Baptismal Blanket

  1. Bobbie Gordner says:

    Hi Jeanne! This blanket is simply too gorgeous for words! It’s obvious that a lot of love went into it, as well as tears, I’m sure.

    Like

Leave a Reply

