Hello!

Well, it has definitely been a long time since I’ve posted anything. There hasn’t been much to report…

The kitchen remodel stalled due to health and financial constraints. However, laying of the new floor has begun. Nothing else has been accomplished on the island, but sweetie says he intends that to be his winter project.

I’ve been employed and and am once again unemployed. But really, I’m actually enjoying being home.

I’ve been doing some crochet and knooking.

I finished this crocheted item back in September:

Four Roses Centerpiece

It is 42-inches wide. I intended it to fit one of my coffee tables, but it is much bigger than expected. I’ll need to make something else for that purpose. This will look lovely on my black-lacquer dresser, or as a centerpiece on our dining table. BTW, I have no idea what’s up with the alignment on this paragraph, but no matter what I do, I can’t fix it…

I’ve been re-learning to knook (knitting with a crochet hook) and I learned a different technique. The Leisure Arts way works best for me. I made a mini photo tutorial for myself (being a crocheter I need reminders of how to create the knit and purl stitches because it is similar to crochet) and I’ll make a separate post for that – just in case anyone reading this is interested in learning how to knit with a hook.

I have joined a mystery one-skein knit-along on ravelry. I have no idea what we’re making, but so far this is what it looks like:

One Skein KAL October 2014 2

I’m guessing that it is going to be a hat. Please excuse my imperfect stitches. I’m still learning tension control. I think that after blocking it will look much better.

Before starting the above-mentioned KAL, I knooked this little guy up real quick:

Owl

I absolutely adore him! I have no idea what I’m going to do with it… Just add it to the owl collection, I guess.

In addition to the KAL, I am also working on a crochet project. Here is the chart:

Pricilla Filet Peacock Chart

This thread beast is going to be huge. This photo was taken after the first ball of thread was gone:

Peacock First Ball

Unblocked, it measures 53-inches wide. I believe that the unblocked finished object will fit our dining table. I’m going to finish it and decide whether or not I want to block it. I will post photos with each ball of thread used.

I hope this post finds you and yours well. I’m off to make a knooking tutorial!

Leave a Reply

