Nottawholelotta

Hello All!

I know I’ve been absent for quite a while. But, I haven’t had much to report…

I got a new sewing machine for my birthday. It’s a Singer Heavy Duty 4423 and I love it! I haven’t tried sewing anything thick with it yet, but I did test it on Rayon. I figured that if anything, a heavy-duty machine would have the hardest time with thin fabric. It didn’t have any problem at all. I was quite impressed! It fed the slippery stuff without any issues and not once did it try to eat the fabric. It has a drop-in bobbin and I’m loving that, as well.

Ironically, a few weeks before I got my new machine, I signed up for a sewing class. Since the only working machine I had at the time was my little Brother, I had to order the (very expensive!) walking foot for it. The class was a week after my birthday. So, I took the Brother – determined to get SOME action from that special foot. The class was for learning to make a chenille scarf. Basically, you take layers of a woven fabric cut on the bias (I used a very thin flannel, but non-flannel fabric works well too), sew lines, cut the fabric (all but the base layer) between the sewn lines and wash. This makes all those cut places fluff up. It took me about 4 hours and I am quite pleased with the result:

Scarf and Fabric Scarf Closeup Scarf Fabric Scarf Fringe Scarf Wide Scarf

Next on my list has been a Clan MacLean tartan project. It’s still a work in progress, so I’ve no pictures yet. This will be a crocheted tartan panel that will be made into a cover for my new sewing machine. It is made by first creating a mesh and then using strips of chain woven into the mesh. I’m about 2/3 of the way finished; so, to be continued!

Other than that, friends, there really isn’t anything to report. Life has been blissfully mundane here in our neck of the woods!

Leave a Reply

