Happy New Year!

I hope everyone had a safe and joyful start to the calendar year!

We didn’t stay up until midnight, but went to bed at about 11:00. Yeah, I guess we’re getting old…

Our weather has continued (for the most part) to remain cold and snowy. We’ve been in the negative temperatures (Fahrenheit) several times, in the last week. Yep, winter has arrived.

I haven’t been doing any crafting and have spent much of the last week healing from a back injury. I went to the chiropractor (for the first time ever) a few days ago and I believe that I am on the mend!

I’ve spent a lot of my free time reading. I got started on the Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon. Totally addictive! I’m currently on book four. These books are adventure/romance. I’m not a great fan of the romance genre, but these have enough adventure to keep me interested.

We went to my father’s house for our family Christmas celebration, this evening. It was fun. We do the gift-giving game White Elephant/White Horse. We came away with a Kobalt double-drive ratcheting screwdriver set. I love ratcheting screwdrivers and have been eyeballing that particular model on the TV commercials. Glad to have won it!

The animals are doing well. Frank is still being a jerk. Our neighbor has agreed to take the two does, as soon as she gets a suitable pen built. She has a friend that is a spinner (no, not me) and she will give her their yearly fiber ration. Once the girls have been re-homed, we will take down the sections of fence that act as a barrier between the two pens and once again have everyone together.

On our way to my dad’s, I saw a miniature donkey. I think I want one… I know that they aren’t great guardians, because of their size. And because of their size, I’m a bit concerned about having one in with the goats… It certainly warrants further thinking. We had already thought of getting a donkey, but the minis are just so dang cute!

Time to start planning the gardens. This year, I really want to put in a medicine garden. I really want to learn how to make medicines and get our medicine chest (figuratively speaking) stocked. I haven’t decided what all I want to plant, but I’m starting to look into it. I got the book Herbal Antibiotics by Stephen Harrod Buhner – it’s a good one. I have other herb books, but they’ve been in storage for so long, I don’t remember what they are. I really need to get my boxes of books out of the barn and into the house!

I hope this post finds its readers well!

One thought on “Happy New Year!

  1. Marigold says:

    Sounds like you are still snowbound. Brrrr! 🙂 Miniature donkeys are very cute. Hope you get one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

