Kitchen Update

Photos to come in my next post!

My niece and I have been working on the kitchen of our new home, for the last few days…

We were starting from a terribly dated 70’s style kitchen. This includes several dark wood cabinets, faux brick (complete with black grout!) on two walls, and unattractive wallpaper on top of more unattractive wallpaper.

We have covered the brickwork with two coats of masonry sealer and wouldn’t you know… There were still some areas where the red brick color was bleeding through. Ugh! I’m going to try hitting it with primer (Kilz brand).

We removed the top layer of wallpaper and decided not to remove the final layer. It is intact and has become one with the paneling-type wood underneath. So, we will just cover the ugliness.

I went through and caulked all the weird spaces and gaps that developed where the walls meet; and I spackled all of the little nail holes that I could find. I also caulked all the way around the kitchen window. Hopefully, this will help keep out some drafts.

All of the cabinets have been sanded and are ready for primer.

Tomorrow, sweetie will spray an orange peel texture on the walls (except the brick) and then we will be ready for paint!

I’ve chosen two lovely colors for the kitchen… A nice, crisp yellow for the walls and brick; and a nice white for the cabinets and ceiling. I don’t have the paint chips, here in the camper, so I can’t give you their names. I’ll try to remember to do that when I post the “tah-dah” photos. I’ve been trying real hard to remember to take pictures as we go!

Once the paint is done, I get to (try!) to make cute country curtains for the window. I’m not exactly sure what I’m going to do, but it will most certainly involve navy blue gingham.

Sweetie got most of the electricity hooked up; but he missed something, as some of our outlets aren’t working. But, we have lights and a furnace that work! We also have the woodstove, which we’ve been using the last few days while we work on the kitchen. The plan is to have the septic hooked up tomorrow. I can’t tell you how excited we all are to be able to go to the bathroom on normal toilets! There’s still no water, but that’s next on his list after septic.

To be continued…

2 thoughts on “Kitchen Update

  1. Marigold says:

    Oh, real toilets! Always an exciting prospect! šŸ™‚ Can’t wait to see the sunny kitchen!

    Like

    • An exciting prospect, to be sure! And as of this evening, we have running water! So now, when we use the toilets, we don’t have to use a five-gallon bucket to flush!!!

      Two coats of primer are now on the majority of the cabinets. I couldn’t finish because I didn’t have my helper and I had gone shopping earlier in the day – so I was already tired when I started. But, primer should be ALL DONE tomorrow! Yay!

      Like

Leave a Reply

