Ball Bralette

Sweetie had to take our elderly friend to the hospital yesterday afternoon. He didn’t get home until 11:30 last night! The poor gal has diverticulitis, a very painful intestinal problem. She is usually able to control the symptoms with her diet, but she’s getting worse. Thankfully, they only kept her overnight. She’s back home now.

While sweetie was gone, I decided to make a yarn bra. A yarn bra is something that you put your center-pull ball of working yarn in and it holds it in place, nice and neat.

I used this pattern for my ball keeper. It was very simple. It took me about an hour and a half to make.

I don’t remember what kind of yarn I used. I bought it at Walmart and it was the only turquoise yarn they had. Of course, I threw away the ball band. (I really have to stop doing that!!!) But, it’s a bit chunkier than typical Red Heart Super Saver. The yarn is acrylic, but it is super soft. I used a size J hook.

This shot was taken indoors, so the lighting isn’t great. But, you can see it in action. The dark object on the circular needle at the bottom of the frame is the sock that I’m working on – pictures of that to come, eventually.

My work in progress fits perfectly inside the little bag, along with the ball of yarn. The little bundle fits in my purse and is always handy. I added a wrist strap, so I can work on my socks wherever I happen to be – no worries about having a place to set it down!

The animals are doing well…

The goats are ready to shear; and I suddenly find that I will be in need of carders, very soon! They’re as cute as ever and playing an awful lot. It’s so cute!

The horse is back up to her normal weight! No ribs! I need to take some more pictures of her. She’s Little Miss Sassafras, to be sure. We need to get a saddle and start riding her. Well, we need to LEARN how to ride her… We know that she doesn’t like having a bit in her mouth (but really, who would?) so we are thinking of going bitless. We’ll see…

The pigs are getting bigger and we plan to harvest another next month. We found a local smokehouse (in the town we live in!) and we’re going to have him do it up for us. We know we got someone else’s pig, our last order. We don’t know if it was a mistake or intentional, but we aren’t using that smokehouse again.

Well, that’s about all I have for now. Have a good night!

Leave a Reply

