My First Doily!

As promised, pictures of the doily!

This project kills two birds with one stone: my first doily and my first crochet project using thread.

It worked up pretty quick. I only worked on it for a couple of hours an evening.

I used a size 7 steel hook and size 10 thread.

My gauge kept changing, because I’m not used to using those little hooks. Blocking helped, but not as much as I hoped it would.

If you’d like to give it a go, I found the pattern at ravelry: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/doily-7276.

The next project I’ve started is a knit scarf: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/irish-hiking-scarf.

It’s taking me about 5 minutes to knit one row; so it’s going to be a while before I have an actual scarf to wear. But, it’s a simple pattern and it incorporates cables, which are fabulous and amazingly easy to do!

For the scarf, I’m using the blue baby yarn that I used to make Matthew’s blanket. It’s soft and I love the colors!

Have a good night!

Leave a Reply

