Not Much Going On…

This past week has been spent quietly passing the time watching TV, for the most part. I’ve been watching an extinct show called “Brothers & Sisters”. I really like it and I’m glad that it’s being streamed on Netflix.

The reason why I haven’t been doing much is that I think I’m coming down with a bug. My cube-mate at work has been sick for a couple of weeks; but she hasn’t stayed away from the office… I may have caught her cooties. I’m just tired and feeling yucky…

However, I have done a very small amount of crafting… Something I haven’t shown you any pictures of… Tatting!

Tatting projects are built with a series of rings and chains. They are created either using a shuttle or a needle.

When tatting, one is creating half-hitch knots, often with picots thrown in. Picots serve two purposes: decoration and joining. When you are joining two parts together (such as the two rings at each end of a chain) you need a way to put them together. A picot allows this to happen.

Thread is used with a long needle. The thread sizes range from something almost as small as sewing thread, on up to yarn. The higher the number, the thinner the thread. Needles also range in size. And like knitting and crochet, you need to use the proper size needle for the thread that you’re using. In this bookmark project, I used size 20 or 30 thread. I’m not sure which needle size I used; but it is the second from the largest in my set.

Tatting is an old art. My great-grandmother used to tat lace. She even made a tablecloth! The skill managed to skip a couple of generations and I decided to pick it up. The only difference is that I’m unable to use a shuttle. So, I’ve learned to tat using a needle.

I’m afraid that I don’t have any pictures of the finished bookmark to show you… I realized that I didn’t give myself enough needle thread to use, so I only got halfway finished. There is a way to attach more thread, but I didn’t feel like messing with it. Ah well, maybe next time!

Leave a Reply

