Crochet!

Well, in my illness, I haven’t felt up to doing much. But, last night I felt like playing with yarn.

Since I have a TON (six skeins each) of the pink and brown yarn, for the Sunrise Sunset afghan, I thought I’d use it. I still haven’t purchased the proper hook for the blanket, so I can’t really make it yet.

I got an e-book called “Go Crochet! Afghan Design Workbook” by Ellen Gormley, and there are some terrific motifs inside. I decided to play around with a few of them: two octagons and a square. Squares are used to fill in the spaces that are left when four octagons are stitched together. You could also use two triangle shapes.

First, here is a photo of the square that I made for the Sunrise Sunset afghan. As you can see, it is quite rippled. I believe this is due to the fact that I’m using a hook that is too big.

And from the book, here is the Octagon Medallion Motif:

Also from the book, here is the Purple Pansy motif. You can’t really tell from the photo, but it is an octagon – well, it would be if it were blocked. This one included a first for me… It was my first time ever doing a front-post double crochet. It wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be!

And last but not least… Also from the book, the Cherry Cordial motif. It would be a square, if it were blocked.

The really neat thing about all of the motifs in Ellen’s book is that they are mixable. Each motif has 13 stitches on each side. In some instances, a person will need to change hook/yarn size, in order to get them to fit together properly. But, once you have your gauge down, they all fit!

The three motifs I chose worked up quickly, and I imagine that they all do. That’s the nice thing about little motifs, you get them finished fast.

Leave a Reply

